Home | History | The Village | Publications | Gallery | Enquiries | Friends  | Links |

Introduction to The Stevington Historical Trust (Registered Charity No. 1086669)


The Trust in association with St Mary’s Parochial Church Council is proud to announce the publication of its latest work St Mary the Virgin Stevington History and Architecture

The book is illustrated in full colour and is in two parts: Part 1 History and Part II Architecture.

The book runs to 120 pages and has been printed in a limited edition of 100.

The photography of the Church is by Roger Day and the text is by Peter Hart. The book has been set by Paul Middleton

The cost per copy is £20.00

Go to our Publications section for more details or order online here

St Mary's Church - Watercolour by an Unidentified Artist c 1850  

The Village is a small parish with a population of about 670 situated in Bedfordshire, England. It lies six miles north west of the Borough of Bedford in the picturesque valley of the river Great Ouse. The Village is an ancient Domesday village and has a wealth of listed buildings.

The Village amenities include an Anglican Church dating from the eleventh Century, an early Baptist Chapel founded in 1655, a Community Shop and a thriving Village Hall centre home to the Cinema Club which provides live steaming from the National Theatre and the Royal Opera House.

The Village boasts a variety of sports and other social clubs. The former include the Football Club and the Sailing Club (yes, it is possible to sail on the River Ouse) and among the latter the Women’s Institute, the Book Club and the Bowls Club. The Stevington Magazine, published quarterly, provides villagers with an up to date report on recent Village activity and an outlet for aspiring literary talent.


What do we do?
The Stevington Historical Trust, established in 1999, grew from a group of enthusiastic local historians who started to meet in the early 1970s to research the history of the Village. The formal object of the Trust is to advance the education of the public in the history of Stevington. Over the years the Trustees have spent many hours (some say too large a part of their lives) documenting the history of the parish. Their labours have resulted in the acclaimed Stevington: The Village History (2001) and more recently Stevington: The Natural History of a Bedfordshire Parish (2015) as well as Stevington In Pictures (2004) and Stevington Historic Walks (2006).

Please consult the pages which follow for details of these publications and to learn more about the ongoing work of the Trust.

Trustees: Roger Day, John Duffield, Peter Hart, John Hirst, Paul Middleton, Jane O'Connor and Nigel Stead

Contact Details:
Peter Hart (Hon Secretary)
......Tel.01234 823586 . . . ..Become a Friend of SHT.. . . . . Visit our facebook page